Username: Password:

Author Topic: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss  (Read 8628 times)

Offline twig123

  • Rookie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« on: October 10, 2017, 05:47:15 AM »
Hey all,

I've yet another instance of the bot selling at a loss... this time on v5.0.5.5.
(previous time was on v3.3.2: https://gunthy.org/index.php/topic,1552.0.html)

I had a bag of coins that I've been holding for a while, I start the bot to try to sell them and it tells me that it can't find the bought price and to manually enter it.
....I'm not sure why it can't get the price, as I can see the bought price when I browse to the transactions of the coin, but w/e.

So, I entered the buy price: "BOUGHT_PRICE": 0.00923000

Code: [Select]
"BTC-NEO": {
"strategy": "bbstepgain",
"override": {
"BOUGHT_PRICE": 0.00923000,
"DOUBLE_UP": true,
"BUY_ENABLED": true
}
}
Code: [Select]
"bbstepgain": {
"TRADING_LIMIT": 0.001,
"PERIOD": 15,
"BUY_LEVEL": 6,
"GAIN": 0.6,
"EMA1": 16,
"EMA2": 8,
"HIGH_BB": 25,
"LOW_BB": 10,
"STDV": 2,
"SMAPERIOD": 20,
"BUYLVL1": 4,
"BUYLVL2": 6,
"BUYLVL3": 70,
"SELLLVL1": 0.6,
"SELLLVL2": 2,
"SELLLVL3": 70,
"BUYLVL": 2,
"SELLLVL": 2,
"LASTPOINTS": 5,
"AVGPOINTS": 250,
"AVGMINIMUM": 0.00000001,
"GUNTHY_API": false,
"PP_BUY": 0.00000001,
"PP_SELL": 0.12345678,
"PANIC_SELL": false,
"DOUBLE_UP": false,
"STOP_LIMIT": 99,
"BUY_ENABLED": false,
"MIN_VOLUME_TO_BUY": 0.0001,
"MIN_VOLUME_TO_SELL": 0.0001
}

Everything was going good... it bought a 2nd time to average the price down....

Then BAM! Sold for a LOSS!!!!!!
https://imgur.com/Vtuit8O

The average cost of the coin should have been 0.00759250, and should have waited to sell until ~0.00763806 (with the 2 buys that were on the books), yet the bot sold for 0.00609000

I assume it is calculating "GAIN" on price of the last BUY instead of averaging the price of the coins properly...
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 05:55:44 AM by twig123 »

Offline twig123

  • Rookie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 08:20:02 AM »
Yet another sell at a loss.... the bot is broken...
Please review this ASAP!

Code: [Select]
"BTC-EMC": {
"strategy": "bbstepgain",
"override": {
"BOUGHT_PRICE": 0.00028500,
"DOUBLE_UP": true,
"BUY_ENABLED": true
}
}

https://imgur.com/ivm4I2j

Offline dobcrypto

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 196
  • Russian - native language
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 12:10:33 PM »
Yet another sell at a loss.... the bot is broken...
Please review this ASAP!

Code: [Select]
"BTC-EMC": {
"strategy": "bbstepgain",
"override": {
"BOUGHT_PRICE": 0.00028500,
"DOUBLE_UP": true,
"BUY_ENABLED": true
}
}

https://imgur.com/ivm4I2j
Dont use 15 period on 5055!!!
1/5/30 on Bittrex with "GUNTHY_API": false

Offline twig123

  • Rookie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 07:36:33 PM »
Dont use 15 period on 5055!!!
1/5/30 on Bittrex with "GUNTHY_API": false

Okay, so, I have a couple things I'd like to know then

1) What is GUNTHY_API, and why is it needed? (AFAIK, this wasn't required in v3.3.2)
2) Why is only 15min effected?
3) It's obviously pulling prices and buying as expected, just not averaging prices and selling properly.
4) Can we get a release where the config.js file isn't jacked up? (v5.0.5.5 has double "EMA1"s in the config... and I think something else, but can't recall off the top of my head)

Offline paramecie

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 07:46:16 PM »
>1) What is GUNTHY_API, and why is it needed? (AFAIK, this wasn't required in v3.3.2)

It is a new alpha feature for you to get full stats (trades, SMA, EMA) when starting the bot. Data are provided by gunthy.org which collects data 24/7/365.
Supposed to - it's alpha.
As it's not 100% reliable, maybe don't use it.

>4) Can we get a release where the config.js file isn't jacked up? (v5.0.5.5 has double "EMA1"s in the config... and I think something else, but can't recall off the top of my head)

3.3.2 is the official stable release, please use it.
The other ones are nightly or alpha - config is your problem ;-)

The new stable 5.0.5.x or such is late, supposed to be release on saturday, but it encountered some difficulties apparently.
So please be patient.

Or like me, use 3.3.2 until then.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 08:32:06 PM by paramecie »

Offline twig123

  • Rookie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2017, 09:03:01 PM »
Thanks for the info.
I've also had an unexpected sell for a loss on v3.3.2 as well (linked in my OP)....

I was really hoping to use the Double_Up feature, in an effort to not keep bags hanging around...
Currently, I've actually stopped both versions of the bot (v5.0.5.5 and v3.3.2, they were on different coins)... and I've manually averaged the coins and created the needed buy/sell orders, since the bot seems unreliable at this time.

Offline paramecie

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2017, 09:49:26 PM »
3.3.2 is pretty reliable.
It just sometimes makes double buys because he places an order that takes some time to be completed, and it thinks no order has been made... something like this.
double_buy: I would NOT use it for any reason.

To get rid of bags, place manual order on your marketplace, to the value you wish - and forget it.
A bot isn't for bags, don't spare its energy on this.

HTH -

Offline sloaleks

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 610
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2017, 06:54:27 AM »
A bot isn't for bags, don't spare its energy on this.

Hmm. I use mine mainly to create bags ...  :P

Offline paramecie

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2017, 11:30:24 AM »
The methodic approach, ah you're a scientific, sloaleks!  ;D

Offline sloaleks

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 610
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2017, 01:34:39 PM »
... and the bot doesn't even seem to be slowed down by this bag creating!
Ah, the simple methodic aproach ... It lightens the burden of investing.

How I set it at the moment, in a way mimicks and old investor strategy: 
1. make a list of assets you want to have (check, in the config),
2. buy when it's cheap (check, although not at the cheapest, but OK),
3. wait 10 years (check, it's making me do this), and
4. viola, rich man.

Offline paramecie

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2017, 02:55:31 PM »
>3. wait 10 years (check, it's making me do this), and

Ah, GAIN=4000%
That's a smart setting.
I wish I did this in 2015 with BTC...
But maybe build a dedicated PC (or better Raspberry or such) for this, as it may run for 4 or 10 years  :P

>4. viola, rich man.

No, not viola, it's "voilą" ;)

Et voilą !

Offline sloaleks

  • Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 610
    • View Profile
Re: v5.0.5.5 + BOUGHT_PRICE + DOUBLE_UP = Sell at loss
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2017, 08:09:34 PM »
>4. viola, rich man.

No, not viola, it's "voilą" ;)

Et voilą !
oh ... :P