Username: Password:

Author Topic: Bollinger Bands: Either the math doesn't add up or I'm just a noob  (Read 17841 times)

Offline BBConfusion

• Rookie
    • View Profile
So. I decided to go with BB on a sideways market and have set my high and low BBs to 35%. Let's say that the pricepoint at the low BB is 1, shouldn't the bot buy at 1.35?

When I check the logs, the bot wants to buy at 1.0302 (3.02%). Why is that?

Offline heromrk18

• Rookie
    • View Profile
Re: Bollinger Bands: Either the math doesn't add up or I'm just a noob
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 07:46:20 PM »
at least you bot does something... oh and you wont find much help here... looking into a telegram group instead

Offline BBConfusion

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2018, 07:56:32 PM »
at least you bot does something... oh and you wont find much help here... looking into a telegram group instead

telegram is only 3-5 people talking about how awesome their bot is and 100 other people being ignored!

Offline Tangy

• Rookie
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2018, 09:50:54 PM »

telegram is only 3-5 people talking about how awesome their bot is and 100 other people being ignored!

The Telegram group isn't your free tech support group. Ask your question and wait for an answer. If it doesn't get answered within an hour, ask again.

Offline sloaleks

• Contributor
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 09:58:11 AM »
So. I decided to go with BB on a sideways market and have set my high and low BBs to 35%. Let's say that the pricepoint at the low BB is 1, shouldn't the bot buy at 1.35?

no. it all depends at where your low bb is, where the sma is and where the high bb is. you need to check this on the charts, pay attention to have the same period on your chart calculation and on your bot strategy.
your calculation would be right only when (value @high bb is 2) - (value @low bb is 1) = "thickness" of bb is exactely 1, only then price @low bb 35 =1.35